Contents
User Management Guide for Administrators
System Administrators can access the User Management screens to add users, assign their account-level role, give module access, define the module-level role, and deactivate users.
Contents
System Administrators can access the User Management screens to add users, assign their account-level role, give module access, define the module-level role, and deactivate users.
Aims
- Understand how to access the User Management area.
- Add a User.
- Assign the account-level role.
- Deactivate a user.
- Provide the module-level access each user needs.
How to add a User
- Navigate to Menu > Administration > Users.
- Select Create New User (at the top of right of the All Users screen).
- Select the user’s Title.
- Enter the user’s Forename.
- Enter the user’s Surname.
- Enter the user’s Email.
- Upload an image (optional).
- Select Create User.
- The new user will now be available in the All Users list. The default role is User.
The All Users list: apply account-level Roles & Settings
The All Users list displays all users on the account and includes:
- Username
- Email address
- overall role on the system (User or System Admin),
- the modules they have access to
- last login date.
To make changes to a User's account-level profile
- Navigate to Menu > Administration > Users.
- Select the All Users tab (if the screen does not default to this section).
- Select the More Options (ellipsis) icon to the right of each user for additional functions.
- Select Edit User to open the full User Profile and update any of the general user details or preferences as needed.
- Select Change User Role to change the account-level role from standard access User to System Admin (or vice versa). Note: The System Admin role should only be provided to those users who need to make organisation-wide changes like Multi-Factor Authentication Settings, adding/removing users etc, via the Administration menu. System Admin has no bearing on module-specific roles; please see the relevant section of this guide.
- Select Lock User to temporarily restrict this user’s access to the platform. The user can be unlocked again in the same way. Note: Locking a user’s access should be used temporarily; if the user no longer needs access to the platform at all, select Deactivate User instead.
Meetings Access
Once a user is available in the All Users list, they can be given the appropriate module access and role within each. Users are added to the Meetings module by default, but this can be amended if they won’t need to be invited to meetings.
- Navigate to Menu > Administration > Users.
- Select the Meetings tab to open the Meetings users list.
- This list displays all users who have access to the Meetings module. On the left, each Committee is listed.
- If the user is not already in the Meetings Users list, select Add Users.
- Search by scrolling through the list or typing the user’s name into the search all users field.
- Select the user. Note: this is a multi-select list, so you can add multiple users at one time if you need to.
- Select Add Users.
Change a Meetings User's Role
When a new Meetings user is added, the default role is Attendee. If they will need to be able to set up and edit meetings, change the role to Organiser:
- Select the More Options (ellipsis) icon to the right of the user’s name in the Meetings Users list:
- A prompt will appear to confirm whether to proceed with changing the user role.
- Select Change Role.
- Note: The Organiser role should only be applied to those who need to create and edit meetings.
- An Organiser role can be reverted to Attendee in the same way.
Manage Committee Members
- Select a Committee from the list under the Meetings Users list.
- To include a user in the Committee, select Add Users.
- Search by scrolling through the list or typing the user’s name into the search all users field.
- Select the user. Note: this is a multi-select list, so you can add multiple users at one time if you need to
- Select Add Users to include the user in the Committee going forward.
- To remove a user from a Committee, select the more options (ellipsis) icon. Select Remove user from this list.
- A prompt will appear to confirm, select Remove to proceed.
Block a User's access to the Meetings module
You can do this from either the Meetings all users list, or via the Meetings Blocked Users list.
- In the Meetings Users list, select the more options (ellipsis) icon to the right of the user.
- Select Remove User from this list.
- A prompt will appear to confirm, select Remove to proceed.
- The user will now appear in the Meetings Blocked Users list.
- OR from the Meetings Blocked Users list, select Add Users.
- Search by scrolling through the list or typing the user’s name into the search all users field.
- Select the user. Note: this is a multi-select list, so you can add multiple users at one time if you need to
- Select Add Users to block the user(s) from the Meetings module.
Plans & Registers Access
- Navigate to Menu > Administration > Users.
- Select the Plans & Registers tab to open a list of all the Risk Registers and Goals Plans configured for your Organisation.
- Note: Users will only have access to the Plans & Registers they are included on.
Manage the Users on a plan/register
- Select a Plan or Register.
- To give users access to the board, select Add Users at the top right of the list.
- Search by scrolling through the list or typing the user’s name into the search all users field.
- Select the user. Note: this is a multi-select list, so you can add multiple users at one time if you need to
- Select Add Users to give the user(s) access to the board.
- Note: The default access level is User – a standard User can edit items where they are assigned as an Owner or Editor and will typically have read-only access to the Risks/Objectives they do not own.
- Select the More Options (ellipsis) icon on the right of a user for further user management.
- Select Edit User to open the full User Profile and update any of the general user details or preferences as needed.
- Select Change User Role to change a standard access User to an Admin (or vice versa) on that board.
- Important Note: The board Admin role should only be applied if you want that user to be able to make changes across the entire plan/register, regardless of ownership. The Admin role is typically reserved for those who need to be oversee the plan/register.
- Select Remove User from this list to remove the User’s access to that board. Note: the user will remain in the Name filter dropdown if they are still owner/editor of risks/controls/actions.
Resources Library Access
- Navigate to Menu > Administration > Users.
- Select the Resources tab.
- Select Main Library to display a list of the users who currently have access to the Resources Library.
- Note: Permissions (where applicable) for the folders within the Resources Library are managed directly within the folder structure. This section of the User Management menu is for general access to the module only.
- To give a user access to the Resources Library, select Add Users:
- Search by scrolling through the list or typing the user’s name into the search all users field.
- Select the user. Note: this is a multi-select list, so you can add multiple users at one time if you need to
- Select Add Users to give the user(s) access to the Resources Library.
Block a User's access to the Resources Library
Do this from either the Main Library users list, or via the Resources Blocked Users list.
- In the Main Library users list, select the more options (ellipsis) icon to the right of the user.
- Select Remove User from this list.
- A prompt will appear to confirm, select Remove to proceed.
- The user will now appear in the Resources Blocked Users list.
- OR from the Resources Blocked Users list, select Add Users.
- Search by scrolling through the list or typing the user’s name into the search all users field.
- Select the user. Note: this is a multi-select list, so you can select multiple users at one time if you need to
- Select Add Users to block the user(s) from the Resources Library.
Deactivate a User
If a user no longer requires access to the account overall:
- Navigate to Menu > Administration > Users.
- Select the All Users tab (if the screen does not default to this section).
- Select the More Options (ellipsis) icon to the right of each user for additional functions.
- Select Deactivate User.
- To display deactivated users in the All Users list, select the checkbox for Show Deactivated Users.
- To reactivate a user, Select the More Options (ellipsis) icon to the right of each user for additional functions.
- Select Reactivate User.
- Note: if the user profile retains the same email address as they had before, a prompt will be displayed asking if you would like to reactivate their old user profile (with the old access).
Was this article useful?
Multi-Factor Authentication - a guide for Administrators